ECOLOGY LAW QUARTERLY

Vol. 51 2024 No. 1

Editorial Board 2024-2025

Editors in Chief
LIAM CHUN HONG GUNN ELLIE RUBINSTEIN

Managing Editor
QUINN FERRAR

Senior Articles Editors SARAH O'FARRELL LOGAN GRAHAM

Articles Editors
ABBY NEAL
ANNIE EVANS
MEG O'NEILL
BECCA PASKOWITZ
KEVYN HADLEY
MARIKA LEVIDOW
PAYSON MAYERLE

Senior Publishing Editor
DANA DABBOUSI

Ecology Law Currents Senior Editor
DAIJA CHAMBERS

Publishing Editors
DIEGO MORALES
NATALIE BELKNAP
ELEANOR BOCK
JULIA SAXBY

Currents Assistant Editors Jordan Perry Felicia Paradiso

Currents Publishing Editor
JOYCE CHEN

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Director

ANGELINA PAUL

Executive Editors
BEN SHIPMAN
LUCY DAUGHERTY
FIONA DANIEU
ANNA VAN RHYN
MATTHEW KENNEY
ANDREW OLIVEI
WILL PALMER
FIONA GRANT

Senior Executive Editors

HEATHER DEMOCKER

MITCHELL GARMANY

Books and Research Editor
JOHN MURRAY

Development and Symposium Director
CHLOE WINNETT

Environmental Justice Editor
SHREE MEHROTRA

Environmental Justice Organizer PARMIS GHAFELENBASHI

Program Director Media Director
ASHLIE ANDRADE MALIA LIBBY

Assistant Programs Director
SARAH CAMPBELL TUCKER

Assistant Media Director SOPHIE ALLAN

Members

RAQUEL ACOSTA WILLIAM ANDERSON JAKE ARFT-GUATELLI JORDAN BARTON JACOB BENEDICKSEN SOPHIA BENZONI JEREMY BERGER GAVIN BOWEN **QUINN BRASHARES** ANA BRITT JULIA CASTRO JAKE CHAPUT ALEXA CHAVARA CAT CHERVENAK ISABEL COOPER JOE CULLEN AMELIA DAL PRA ADAM DAVID ALEJANDRA DE MAAR JUSTINE DEL MONTE ISABEL DETRE MAC DICKERSON MATT DOLLINGER HOLLY EBERHARD ISABELLE EBY CLAIRE ELLIMAN

RYE FLORES AMBER FRANK ARROL FULTON CHOI HILDI GABEL NEIL GALLAGHER COLIN GAMM MATT GAVIETA SARAH GOODMAN PARKER GRAY SARAH GREENBERG JAMIE GREENE MARIA GREGG **OLIVIA GRIMES** JOHN HALE HAYDEN HENNIKE CONNOR HUGHES CHRISTIAN ISRAELIAN KATIE JACKSON LYDIA JAHN EILEEN JAMIESON KERN KHURANA GRACE KIEFT ALLISON KLEI MADDISON KONWAY MARISSA LAFAVE VALORIE LAM

DAVID LARSON RYAN LAWS MADISON LEE NURI LEE CAMRYN LEMKE GRACE LI DEXTER LIM MARLEY MACAREWICH MIA MACHADO MATT MAGANN OLIVIA MCCARREN ALLIE MCCLINTOCK ZOE MCCONNELL LAUREL MCGRANE AUSTIN McNichols RENA MCROY CAIT MEYER NOLAN MITRUKA JACKSON MOORE NATASHA MOORJANI MICAH MORGAN CESAR NIJE MACK PARLATORE RAVI PATEL NICK PORSBORG JAKE PRICE

EMILY QIAO VARSHA RAMACHANDRAN MANAEHA RAO BENJAMIN REICHER DAVIS RICH JOHANNA RICHTER MEGHAN RIDDLESPURGER AINSLEY ROSENTHAL EVIE SCHUMANN ABBIE SEDILLOS THOMMY SELDEN ELEANOR STALICK ROSE STRAUSS ANANYA SUBRAMANIAN JESSIE SUGARMAN CAROLINE SUNUWAR AGBOR DESMOND TABE HANNAH TADROS HOLDEN VALENTINE MADDIE VAN DER PLOEG ALEXA VIOLA MADISON WONG Lydia Wu LIWEI YE

JACQUELINE YUKE

Publications Coordinator

KIRA ABRAMS

UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, BERKELEY, SCHOOL OF LAW

Vol. 51 2024 No. 1

NATIONAL ADVISORY BOARD

Partner

BRANDT ANDERSSON Andersson & Andersson

Walnut Creek, California

Partner

SCOTT BIRKEY Cox, Castle & Nicholson, LLP

San Francisco, California

Retired Chief Counsel

WILLIAM M. CHAMBERLAIN California Energy Commission

Sacramento, California

Partner

MICHELE B. CORASH Morrison & Foerster, LLP

San Francisco, California

Director and Principal

RICHARD H. COWART Regulatory Assistance Project

Montpelier, Vermont

Senior Strategic Director, Climate &

DAVID D. DONIGER

Clean Energy Program

Natural Resources Defense Council

Washington, D.C.

Partner

ROBERT DOTY Cox, Castle & Nicholson, LLP

San Francisco, California

Senior Shareholder (Ret.)

KARL E. GEIER Miller, Starr & Regalia

Walnut Creek, California

President

ROGER P. HANSEN Hansen Environmental Consultants

Englewood, Colorado

Partner

ROBERT D. INFELISE Cox, Castle & Nicholson, LLP

San Francisco, California

Former Director for Environmental Claims, United

JULIA KLEE (EPLEY) Nations Compensation Commission

Bend, Oregon

Professor of Law Emeritus
MARC B. MIHALY
Vermont Law School

Vermont Law School South Royalton, Vermont

Former Chief Counsel,

San Francisco Bay Conservation and

Development Commission

San Francisco, California

MARC A. ZEPPETELLO

ECOLOGY LAW QUARTERLY

Vol. 51 2024 No. 1

FACULTY ADVISORY BOARD

ERIC BIBER HOLLY DOREMUS

DANIEL FARBER ROBERT D. INFELISE

PETER MENELL CLAUDIA POLSKY

HARRY N. SCHEIBER

ELQ BENEFACTORS 2024–2025

Thank you to the following donors for their continued support

MAXWELL V. BAUMHEFNER ERIC A. DEBELLIS

JULIA EPLEY KLEE HOWARD KLEE, JR.

GRETTA GOLDENMAN DANIEL E. KRAMER

HEATHER ROSMARIN WILSON SONSINI GOODRICH & ROSATI PC

RACHEL ZURER

LAND ACKNOWLEDGEMENT STATEMENT

Ecology Law Quarterly recognizes that Berkeley sits on the territory of Xučyun, the ancestral and unceded land of the Chochenyo Ohlone, the successors of the historic and sovereign Verona Band of Alameda County. This land was and continues to be of great importance to the Ohlone people. We recognize that every member of the Berkeley community has, and continues to benefit from the use and occupation of this land, since the institution's founding in 1868. Consistent with our values of community and diversity, we have a responsibility to acknowledge and make visible the university's relationship to Native peoples. By offering this Land Acknowledgement, we affirm Indigenous sovereignty and will work to hold University of California, Berkeley, more accountable to the needs of American Indian and Indigenous peoples.

What is a Land Acknowledgement?

A Land Acknowledgement is a formal statement that recognizes and respects Indigenous Peoples as traditional stewards of this land and the enduring relationship that exists between Indigenous Peoples and their traditional territories.